Eligibility Criteria for EFOG-EBCOG Exam: All You Need to Know

Wed 07, 2024
Home Eligibility Criteria for EFOG-EBCOG Exam: All You Need to Know

Eligibility Criteria for EFOG-EBCOG Exam

If you are looking to build a successful medical career in Europe, then the EFOG-EBCOG exam is the path that opens your OBG career path. Want to know how this prestigious qualification adds value to your career development? Here we are looking into what the EFOG-EBCOG exam is, the eligibility criteria, and how it guides you in achieving your dream career.


EFOG (European Board and College of Obstetrics and Gynecology) and EBCOG (European Board and College of Obstetrics and Gynecology) are two professional bodies that set standards for obstetrics and gynecology in Europe.

Check Your Eligibility for EFOG-EBCOG Exam

Primary Medical Degree

To be eligible to sit for the EFOG-EBCOG exam, you must be a doctor who holds a primary medical degree. This degree is typically an MBBS or equivalent qualification, signifying that you have completed your foundational education in medicine.

Medical Practitioner Registration

You must be officially enrolled in your nation’s register of medical practitioners. This registration ensures that you are recognized and authorized to practice medicine within your country.

Training Program Completion

To become eligible to sit for the EFOG Part 1 examination, you need to complete at least three years of a recognized training program in obstetrics and gynecology. This training provides essential practical experience and theoretical knowledge required for the examination.

Candidates can take the Part 2 Examination up to six months before the completion of their training program. Remember, this timing is regulated by the National Obstetrics and Gynecology Society/Authorities, allowing candidates to plan their examination schedule effectively.

Complete Part 1 & Part 2 within the Time Frame

The EFOG-EBCOG Part 2 examination must be completed within three years of becoming eligible. If you are unable to pass Part 2 within this timeframe, you must retake the EFOG-EBCOG Part 1 exam.

Good Standing Documentation

You are required to provide documentation that demonstrates you are in good standing with your Medical Council, Employing Authority, or Head of Department. This documentation is crucial to ensure that you maintain professional integrity and ethical standards.

No Recent Suspensions

You must not have been recently suspended from medical practice by any medical council, hospital, or other regulatory body. This requirement ensures that you are currently deemed fit to practice without any recent professional misconduct.

Attestation of No Disciplinary Actions

You must attest that you have not been subject to any ongoing or past disciplinary actions relating to your clinical practice anywhere in the world. This attestation is essential for you to uphold the professional and ethical standards in the field of obstetrics and gynecology.

Meeting these criteria ensures that candidates possess the necessary qualifications and knowledge to pursue a successful career in Obstetrics and Gynecology within Europe. Once you meet these criteria, you can submit your application to the EBCOG certification board.

If you have any concerns or doubts, kindly connect with the StudyEFOG team.

By : rasheedaav

Signup for Newsletters

Subscribe to StudyMEDIC Newsletters & stay informed